Asian Winter Games

The Asian Winter Games, which began in 1986, are increasing in popularity throughout the continent. While featuring popular sports such as ice hockey and figure skating, the Asian Winter Games also pulls together fans of extreme snow sports such as freestyle skiing, alpine skiing and ski jumping.

With Asian students studying overseas in winter sports countries such as the United States, and with ice rinks springing up in the most unlikely of places, countries such as Thailand, Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore and the United Arab Emirates all sent teams to the 7th AWG in Kazakhstan in 2011.

The latest edition of the AWG proved to be a massive successive, with the co-host cities of stana and Almaty providing futuristic indoor venues and stunning mountain courses, respectively.

The 8th AWG will take place in beautiful Sapporo, on Japan’s northernmost Hokkaido island, and venue for the 1972 Winter Olympics.

·         Sapporo 1986

·         Sapporo 1990

·         Harbin 1996

·         Kangwon 1999

·         Aomori 2003

·         Changchun 2007

·         Astana-Almaty 2011

·         Sapporo 2017